Announcing new Southwark Liberal Democrat Council Group Leader – Cllr Hamish McCallum

Southwark Liberal Democrats are pleased to announce Cllr Hamish McCallum has been elected to take over as leader of the Liberal Democrat Council Group at Southwark Council.  This follows Cllr Nick Johnson’s decision to step down from the leadership position due to growing work and professional commitments.

As well as his passion for serving as the voice of residents as a Liberal Democrat Councillor in North Bermondsey ward, Cllr Hamish McCallum is a trained lawyer who formerly worked with victims of the Grenfell Tower fire and has been Chief Whip for the Liberal Democrat group for 3 years.  Hamish has worked closely alongside his ward colleague and former leader of the Liberal Democrat Council Group, Cllr Anood Al-Samerai, who stood down from that role last year after leading the group for over 10 years.

Commenting on his new position, Cllr Hamish McCallum said:

“I am delighted to take up the role of leader of the Southwark Liberal Democrat Council Group. This is a critical time for our borough and our residents — as we recover from the Coronavirus pandemic, tackle Climate Change and respond to the impact of Brexit.

“Labour is letting Southwark down. Since 2010, Labour have sold or demolished 3,000 council homes, while the housing waiting list has grown to 15,000. And they have cut down over 5,500 trees while continuing to invest in gas fired boilers for estates.

“I look forward to putting forward a bold, ambitious and liberal vision in response to those challenges.

“I believe that our community must be at the heart of everything the council does and I will work with my excellent Liberal Democrat colleagues to continue holding Labour to account in the town hall and across Southwark.“

Commenting on his time as Leader, Cllr Nick Johnson said:

“It’s been a genuine privilege to serve as leader of the Liberal Democrat Council Group and Leader of the Opposition on Southwark Council. Due to expanded work and professional commitments I’ve taken the reluctant decision to step down, I am however confident that the future leader will continue to hold the Labour administration to account and they will have my full support."

Cllr Johnson will continue as a councillor in Surrey Docks ward.  In addition, elections were held for the following key Liberal Democrat opposition officers to support the leader with congratulations going to the following:

  • Deputy Leader – Cllr William Houngbo
  • Chief Whip – Cllr Adele Morris
  • Group Chair – Cllr Jane Salmon

The Liberal Democrat Parliamentary Spokespeople remain as last year