Honorary titles recognise long service of Southwark Liberal Democrat Councillors

This week, four former Southwark Liberal Democrat Councillors were proudly conferred the title of Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen of Southwark for their long standing service to the residents and communities of the borough.

The Liberal Democrat nominations who are congratulated on receiving the title are:

  • James Barber
    • former Liberal Democrat Councillor East Dulwich ward serving 3 terms elected in 2006, 2010 and 2014
  • David Hubber
    • former Liberal Democrat Councillor Surrey Docks ward serving 4 terms elected 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014
  • Lisa Rajan
    • former Liberal Democrat Councillor Surrey Docks ward serving 3.5 terms elected in 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014
  • Rosie Shimell
    • former Liberal Democrat Councillor East Dulwich ward serving 3 terms elected 2010 and 2014

The Southwark Liberal Democrat Council Group also congratulate three former councillors of other parties receiving the honour:

  • Fiona Colley
  • Michael Mitchell
  • Mark Williams

Conferment of the title was decided at a socially distanced Extraordinary meeting of most of the 63 current Southwark Councillors at the Southwark Council Annual General Meeting held on 24th May 2021 in Southwark cathedral. This was the first time Councillors had met together since the beginning of the pandemic over 12 months ago. The support for all the nominations was unanimous. Due to the pandemic and procedures for conferring the title, the actual ceremony with the new Aldermen/Alderwomen present will be held later this year as part of planned Civic awards.

Commenting on the conferments, Leader of the Southwark Liberal Democrat Council Group, Cllr Hamish McCallum said

“The duty and service of a Councillor is both a privilege and an honour granted by residents and voters. It also comes with long hours of hard work and dedicated service to residents and the community they represent. I’m delighted to see each of our former councillors recognised and receive this distinguished honour as acknowledgement of their efforts.”

“I know that each and everyone of these Councillors never rested to ensure the voice of residents were heard at Southwark council. I am delighted to be carrying the mantel of the Southwark Liberal Democrats forward in their footsteps as both a Councillor and leader of the Southwark team.”

Southwark Cathedral - Arrival of Dean and Mayor

For more information please email: [email protected]